Dinner at The Black Olive

January 26, 2009

Baltimore Restaurant Week started this past weekend and continues through February 1st. Last night I went with a few friends to The Black Olive, a little Greek place in Fell’s Point. I think it used to be a row home that they turned into a restaurant, but they did an excellent job making use of the space, as Baltimore rowhomes tend to be pretty narrow and long. I came here during a previous Restaurant week with my friends, Jina and Omoleye, and I really enjoyed it. This time around, I thought the food was pretty good, but the service was rather slow. We had reservations at 9:30, but for some reason they thought we were a party of 6 instead of 8, even though my friend Mike confirmed the reservation. So we had to wait about 10 minutes for them to reconfigure the tables. The waiter was really nice and kept bringing us bread (which I ate way too much of) before our appetizers came out. But we waited a really long time for our entrees. I don’t think we left the restaurant until after midnight.


For my appetizer, I ordered the Traditional Greek Spreads, which came with hummus, taramasalata, melizanasalata (which I think is like baba ganoush) and tzatziki. All the spreads were great. I particularly enjoyed the taramasalata.


For my entree, I ordered the Kleftiko: lamb and cheese served on top of cous cous, roasted in parchment paper. The servers took the dish out of the parchment before presenting it, but personally i would have had fun doing that myself. I thought the cheese was a bit overpowering with the lamb, but the cous cous helped to balance out the flavors.


Lastly, I ordered strawberry sorbet for dessert. I tend to shy away from baklava because I think it’s too sweet, so I didn’t want to risk it. All in all, it was a fun evening with friends.

Leave a Reply

