Easy Peasy Palmiers

February 18, 2009

Today I learned just how easy it is to make Palmiers (aka Elephant Ears). I found this recipe from Joy the Baker, and gave it a whirl. All you need is puff pastry and sugar. For some reason I wasn’t really thinking and didn’t realize how much they would actually expand in the oven, so I lay them on the baking sheet way too close together. As a result the sugar didn’t really caramelize, and the dough wasn’t quite done. So I separated them out and popped them in for antoher five minutes or so. Not perfect, but I think they still taste good =)

I didn’t use the puff pastry brand, Dufour, that Joy raved about so much. Apparently if you can’t find it in stores you can order it online. But I’m not that hardcore, so I settled for some good old Pepperidge Farm brand. I also didn’t use anywhere close to 1 cup of sugar, but I tend to reduce sugar in all my recipes, so this is really no exception.

Posted by Picasa
2 Responses to “Easy Peasy Palmiers”

  1. Adina Says:

    Actually, I have found Dufour at the Whole Foods downtown.I accidentally discovered it while reaching in to pick up some chocolate covered frozen bananas.Your Palmiers look delicious!

  2. Emily Says:

    thanks for the tip!!


Leave a Reply

