Eat Bertha’s Mussels

February 24, 2009

Last Friday, a few fellow students and I took some prospective students out to eat at Bertha’s Mussels in Fell’s Point after their interviews. We ordered a couple plates of mussels for the table as an appetizer: one of the traditional steamed plates with an assortment of sauces, and one sauteed in a Guinness sauce. You really can’t go wrong with the mussels at Bertha’s. Most of the dipping sauces are tasty (don’t be put off by the anchovy sauce–it’s actually really good). I usually just order the mussels when I come here, but this time I decided to try the broiled stuffed shrimp (jumbo shrimp stuffed with crabmeat and broiled, with rice). I thought my entree was pretty good. I was expecting a grand total of maybe 4 shrimp (as is usually the case when a menu describes a dish as containing “jumbo” shrimp). Granted, they weren’t huge shrimp, but there was a lot of crabmeat not so much stuffed as dolloped on top. The rice was a little too buttery, but when all is said and done, I did enjoy my entree. The dessert, on the other hand, left much to be desired. I ordered the lemon chess cake. There wasn’t much tartness to it (and I’m a big fan of tartness) and the crust wasn’t that great.

The famous mussels

Broiled stuffed shrimp

Lemon chess cake

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

