Oatmeal Craisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

March 3, 2009

I love baking. But I’m kind of sloppy and impatient when it comes to baking. I’ll follow recipes, but I do everything in a rush. I don’t know why, it’s just a habit. Last night I made oatmeal cookies, following a recipe from smitten kitchen. I didn’t realize until I was about to start that according to this blog, the key to getting your cookies to turn out thick and chewy is to refrigerate the dough for a bit before baking them. And in an effort to be more healthy, I’ve implemented a rule for myself that I can’t eat anything after 10pm anymore. And it was already 8-something, so I actually had a reason to be rushed!

The recipe uses raisins, but since I didn’t have any I used craisins. And everything tastes better with chocolate chips, so I added half a cup of those in the mix. I used dark brown sugar instead of light since I didn’t have the latter. I chilled the dough for maybe about 30-45 minutes, which was enough to do the trick.

Heaping tablespoon size scoops.

The recipe said to bake for 10-12 minutes at 350F; I ended up putting them in a few minutes longer.

Thick, chewy cookies. Yum!

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

