Red Star Overload

March 3, 2009

I’ve been to Red Star to eat three times in four days now. We take our prospective students there for dinner after their interviews and I ended up there for brunch on Sunday. Last Friday, we had seven prospective students and seven current students in total. They sat us at the table right in the middle of the room, and on a Friday night it can get pretty noisy. It was hard to maintain conversation with everyone at the table, but I think we managed alright. We ordered a few appetizers for the table. I wanted to try the bacon-wrapped scallops, but I was kind of disappointed. I think the sauce had a little maple syrup in it that gave it a sweetness I didn’t like. Plus since they were jumbo scallops (which isn’t always a bad thing) the bacon:scallop ratio was not as high as say..the bacon-wrapped scallops at Famous Yakitori One. We also had the crab artichoke dip and the baked brie, both of which were decent. For my entree, I ordered the Smoky BBQ Burger wrap. I wouldn’t say it wowed me, but it wasn’t bad either. And for dessert, at Mike’s suggestion, I got the bread pudding. That wowed me. it was amazing. The portion was huge, probably should have been more like two portions. And i was so full at this point, but I couldn’t let the thing go to waste so I finished it all. so. worth it.

Clockwise from top left: Bacon-wrapped scallop, crab-artichoke dip, bread pudding, smokey bbq burger wrap

On Sunday, Ramzi, Steph, Ramzi’s friend, Shant, and I came for brunch. Amazingly we didn’t have to wait for a table even without a reservation. I ordered the eggs benedict. It was pretty good. The eggs were poached really well. The ham was sliced really thick, which made it harder to eat, and the sweet potatoes weren’t cooked through, which was unfortunate. I really like their sweet potatoes usually. However, bottomless mimosas make everything better. Definitely left the meal with a slight buzz.

Last night we had a couple more prospectives in town. We actually had a snow day yesterday and the university was closed, so their interviews were canceled. But we took them out to dinner anyway. We ordered wings and the baked brie as apps. I finally gave in and ordered a pizza. I’m always tempted to try the pizza, but I really like the sweet potato fries which come with the sandwiches and burgers, but not the pizzas. My friend has the exact same sentiment, so we each ordered a pizza and a side of sweet potato fries to share. everybody’s happy. I ordered the thai chicken pizza. and for dessert, I got the flourless chocolate cake, which was super yummy with beautiful presentation.

I do really like Red Star, but if I don’t go there again for awhile, I probably won’t be too upset.

Posted by Picasa

Leave a comment