Book Club – "February" Meetup

March 4, 2009

Last Tuesday I hosted our quasi-monthly book club meeting. I’m in a book club with a bunch of my grad student girlfriends. We try to meet about once a month, but this thing called school tends to get in the way. I had suggested The History of Love by Nicole Krauss for February’s book to go with a sort of Valentine’s theme. The book is not as cheesy as the title makes it sound. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it highly. So everytime we meet up, the host comes up with a food theme, and we do a potluck dinner. This month I chose Tapas. I found a recipe for Patatas Bravas online and it looked easy enough to make so I went for it. The sauce is really easy – mainly comprised of ketchup, mayo, and paprika. The recipe called for Spanish Paprika, but I just used regular…don’t really know if there is much of a difference. What’s funny is one of my friends brought the same dish! So it was a patatas battle. Just kidding.

finished sauce

Frying the potatoes.

Voila!

So I found this rather amusing, though I tend to have nerdy humor. I hosted on 3.3.09, which happened to be Square Root Day. According to this article, one of the things you’re supposed to do to celebrate this occation is cut root vegetables into squares (get it, square roots?). It was purely coincidental that I chose a root vegetable dish on Square Root Day, but I got a kick out of it.

Some of the other wonderful dishes my friend’s brought. It was definitely dessert heavy, but you can’t complain about too much dessert!

Posted by Picasa
One Response to “Book Club – "February" Meetup”

  1. joanarca Says:

    yummy foodie


Leave a Reply

