Fajitas and Guac!

April 9, 2009

I have so much catching up to do on here…

a couple weeks ago I was in the mood for a fajita night. Mainly because I already had green and red peppers, onions, and chicken at home. I found a marinade on allrecipes.com, which turned out great!

Pollo Fajitas

the only substitution I made in the marinade was using red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar (just ’cause I already had red wine vinegar). And I used one green and one red bell pepper for a little more color. I doubled the recipe and used the marinade on chicken as well as portabella mushroom for a vegetarian version. Super easy, and pretty quick. Most of the time spent was for prep.

I also made guacamole, which I think was my best attempt at guacamole ever! I’m still really excited about it, even weeks later. The avocados just ripe enough. I sort of combined different recipes together, and this is what I came up with:

Guacamole:
Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe avocadoe – peeled, pitted, and mashed
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ~3 tbsp. chopped cilantro
  • 1 medium tomato, diced (seeds and mushy stuff taken out)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 4 serrano peppers, chopped

Mash everything up in a bowl and you’re done! The peppers made the guac just spicy enough. I left the seeds in too, which made for a nice surprise if you bit into one =P.

I was too excited to start eating so the only picture I managed to take was after we’d already started assembling fajitas.

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

