Oyster Shucking at Mercato del Mare 4.4.2009

June 16, 2009

I have so much catching up to do on this blog. Things have been kind of crazy lately; I had end of semester assignments and I also moved to a new apartment. Not to mention all the great places I’ve been to eat…the pictures have piled up! My friend, Betty, recently sent me the photos she took from my visit to Boston. As I mentioned in a previous post, I got a chance to learn how to shuck oysters at Mercato del Mare, a seafood market in the North End.

Our instructor showing us the oysters we were to shuck and the proper way to orient them for shucking.

First try…

I was having trouble wedging my shucking knife into the oyster

….but I finally managed to get it, but botched it slightly.

cheers!

Thanks, Betty for the photos!

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

