Linda Visits Baltimore/DC! 6.12.09 – 6.14.09

June 22, 2009

Last weekend, my friend, Linda came down to visit from NYC. We spent one day in Baltimore, and then went down to D.C. to catch up with our other friend, Shirley, who is interning there for the summer. Saturday morning, I took Linda to Metropolitan for brunch. I had the eggs benedict, which was alright. One of the eggs was poached perfectly, the other was overdone. There was no oozing of yolk at all. Kind of disappointing.

Linda ordered some wrap without the wrap. I forgot what was actually in it though.

In the afternoon, we headed out to check out Honfest in Hampden. Here’s a pic of the “world’s largest crabcake,” which I thought also looked like the world’s most disgusting crab cake. They were selling portions of it, but I wasn’t about to try it.

On Sunday, we brunched at Kramerbooks and Afterwords in Dupont Circle. It’s a cute little bookshop and cafe. The bread and jam served in the beginning was really good.

They had mimosas for only $3. They were really light; you could barely taste the champagne.

I ordered the porker’s brunch and eggs, which came with bacon, sausage, and eggs. I normally like my bacon crispy, but this was a bit overkill, and the sausage was alright. For all the excellent reviews this place got on yelp, I wasn’t that impressed. I think it’s just an overpopular place. They’re so busy all the time that the service wasn’t that great. We had to repeatedly request for things because our server would forget about us. And she tried to rush us out of there. She even started to clear my plate even though I wasn’t finished with my meal…I was taking a phone call!

After brunch we took the circulator bus over to M street in Georgetown for some shopping. The bus stopped right in front of Iceberry frozen yogurt. Even though I was full from brunch, I still got some green tea and original frozen yogurt with raspberries. I thought it was kind of ridiculous that for $.95 for one topping, I got a whopping five raspberries. They also don’t allow you to sample there, so that kind of sucks.

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

