Tonkatsu Night! 6.17.2009

June 23, 2009

Ed sent me this lifehacker post with a recipe for a spicy sauce combining sriracha and worcestershire sauce (about a 1:3 ratio of worcestershire to sriracha). The article said it would go well with tonkatsu, which made me crave it. So we did a quasi-spontaneous tonkatsu night at the house. I picked up some center-cut pork chops (unfortunately the grocery store I was at didn’t have anything boneless, so I had to cut those out). Making tonkatsu is relatively simple: Pound out the meat. Lightly coat with flour, egg, and panko (in that order). Deep fry for a few minutes on each side. Avoid grease fires. Despite having the fan on full blast the smoke alarm kept going off. It wasn’t smoky in the kitchen, so that was irritating, but the house didn’t burn down so it’s all good.

I didn’t have any cabbage to shred and serve with the tonkatsu, so I steamed some broccoli instead. I think that gave it more color anyway. And Ramzi insisted on having a fried egg to go with it.

Voila! (Thanks, Ramzi for staging the plate)

The sauce itself came out decent; just sriracha with a kick. I also used some spicy mayo leftover from sushi night and that paired pretty well too.
Posted by Picasa
One Response to “Tonkatsu Night! 6.17.2009”

  1. Alisa@Foodista Says:

    Wow, i was just drooling over your other posts, this really looks awesome…thanks for trying our widgets! I love it with the egg too!


Leave a Reply

