Grandmother’s 80th Birthday, 6.27.2009

July 7, 2009

Last week I headed out to Albuquerque, NM for my grandmother’s 80th birthday dinner. It took a lot of coordination and planning, but we managed to have all my aunts and uncles on my father’s side show up (and some of my dad’s cousins as well!) for a dinner in honor of my grandmother. It was pretty awesome to have family come from all over the world for this–and to top it all off we managed to keep it a surprise (or, almost anyway).

We had dinner at East Ocean, a Chinese restaurant that my grandmother always takes us to whenever we visit. Dinner for 32 people…definitely required pre-planning a menu! My mom and Aunt Hali coordinated the menu. The dishes for the most part weren’t super fancy or extravagant, but the best meals are classic dishes made really well.

This was the final menu:

  • Seafood soup (海鮮湯)
  • Chicken with green onion and ginger (蔥油雞)
  • Shrimp with snow pea (雪豆蝦)
  • Peking pork chops (京都排骨)
  • Sizzling steak Cantonese style (中式牛柳)
  • Chinese Broccoli (清炒芥藍菜)
  • Lo Mein (什錦炒麵)
  • Steam rock fish (清蒸石斑)
  • Tofu with minced shrimp (琵琶豆腐)
  • Sesame chicken (芝麻雞)

In addition, we made hardboiled eggs dyed red, which is a traditional dish to serve on birthdays. The eggs were slightly underdone, but I think it’s because we forgot to take into consideration the high altitude of Albuquerque.

I started to lose track after awhile so I didn’t manage to get a picture of each dish, but I think I got most of them. The seafood soup, fish, and ginger chicken were really good, but most of the other dishes were pretty salty.

After dinner, everyone gathered at my aunt and uncle’s church for dessert and just to hang out. My mom had these red bean and lotus buns shipped from L.A.

We also had a sheet cake and some fruit platters. It was really great having a huge family get together like that. The last time we did that was 14 years ago…I was 10! Hopefully it won’t be another 14 years before we do it again.

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

