Vegetarian Dolmas, July Book Club 7.7.2009

July 16, 2009

After an almost two month hiatus, my girlfriends and I got together to discuss a book that had been chosen back in May. A lot of my friends are going through quals right now so with that and summer vacations, it got really hard to pick a meeting time that worked out for everyone. Theme this time was Mediterranean, so I attempted some vegetarian grape leaf Dolmas.

I used a recipe from allrecipes.com, with a couple modifications. Mostly basic ingredients for the stuffing. I didn’t have mint, currants, or dill weed, but I added some lemon juice for a little extra flavor.

The half-cooked stuffing…pre-stuffed.

The grape leaves I got were really small, so it was hard to get a lot of stuffing into them without them exploding (as you can see). I steamed them, but later Ramzi said I should have boiled them. The stuffing tasted good, but the grape leaves were pretty dry. Not the most successful attempt, but hey, it was a first try.
Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

