Las Vegas…foodie style 7.10.2009 – 7.12.2009

October 12, 2009

Okay…time to try to resurrect this blog. Had to take a hiatus, but my friend, Greg over at foodandwineblog inspired me start writing again. Definitely have a lot to catch up on. This past July, I attended my college’s Pi Reunion. Yes…MIT has a reunion 3.14 years after graduating. I spent the weekend eating, drinking, and catching up with friends.

The first day I was there, based on one of my friend’s recommendations, we gorged ourselves at the buffet at the Wynn. The possibilities were endless at this buffet…I can only imagine what it would have been like on the weekend (we went on Friday). There were selections from all different cuisines, and the dessert–couldn’t just choose one! Had to try them all. My friend, Linda and I assembled a dessert platter sampler and shared with the table.

before…

after…

Despite feeling the need to loosen my belt a notch, I had some coffee gelato to finish off my meal.

That evening, we got a bit of a late start so we didn’t have a chance to eat before catching Cirque du Soleil’s, “O” at the Bellagio, so we ended up grabbing McDonald’s after the show and before heading out to the clubs for the night. I know it sounds horrible, eating McDonald’s while in Vegas, but sometimes you gotta make sacrifices, I suppose.

The next day, the reunion sponsored lunch at Kahunaville, one of the restaurants in Treasure Island, where we were staying. It was not that impressive, thus there are no pictures. But afterwards we walked down the Strip over to Jean-Phillipe Patisserie at the Bellagio, home of the world’s largest chocolate fountain.

Although we couldn’t drink directly from the fountain, I did try the mango gelato and it was nom nom good.

That evening, we went to Delmonico Steakhouse, Emeril Lagasse’s restaurant in the Venetian. I shared a jumbo lump crabcake appetizer, and a bone-in rib steak with a creamed spinach side with my friend Lucy.

The meal was excellent, and even though it was slightly out of my budget, it’s kinda nice to go out and be fancy once in awhile. Besides, we were in Vegas…may as well live it up =)

Posted by Picasa

Leave a Reply

