Squash-related things…7.14.09

November 1, 2009

My after school babysitter until I was in the 4th or 5th grade was my Italian next door neighbor.  She’s an awesome cook, and always made yummy after-school treats for me.  One of my favorites was her fried-zucchini flowers.  She kept her own vegetable garden and during the summer, she’d send me home with plates of them.  Stuffed with mozzarella, breaded, and deep fried.  yummy =).  When I found out the Baltimore Farmer’s Market had zucchini flowers, I got really excited.  But apparently you have to get there early because they sell out fast.  My roommate, Ramzi is awesome and picked some up for me one Sunday morning.  I stuffed the flowers with mozzarella and basil, breaded them in a flour mixture with a little soda water, and deep fried them.  They weren’t exactly like my babysitter’s, but they still tasted pretty good.
Ramzi’s sister was in town for a couple weeks, and the first night she was here, he made a Lebanese stuffed squash dish.  Squash were from the farmer’s market, and they were stuffed with ground beef, rice, and tomatoes (if I remember correctly).
I took some zucchinis and made a chocolate zucchini cake, using a recipe (appropriately) from the food blog Chocolate and Zucchini.  It came out really dense and a bit dried out.  Perhaps there wasn’t enough moisture in the zucchini I used, and the recipe doesn’t call for eggs either.
Leave a Reply

