Philly Cheesesteak Tour 7.25.09

November 2, 2009

Over the summer, Ed and I went to Philadelphia for a Philly Cheesesteak tour.  We met up with a couple of Ed’s friends who drove down from New York, and we spent the afternoon waiting in line, and indulging ourselves.  As many times as I’ve visited Philly, I’ve never actually had an authentic Philly Cheesesteak.

We hit some traffic on the way up there so by the time we arrived we only had a few hours.  Of course our first stop(s) had to be Pat’s and Geno’s, which are located right across from each other.  Since we were four people, we got two steaks from each location and went halfsies so as not to overexert our stomachs right off the bat.

2009_07_25 - Philly Cheesesteak Tour

A little history on Pat’s…

IMG_5813-1

 

Be sure to use the proper ordering etiquette at Pat’s!!

IMG_5814

 

A side by side comparison, (both with whiz, of course).

2009_07_25 - Philly Cheesesteak Tour1

I didn’t like that the meat on Geno’s steak wasn’t chopped up; and there was definitely less flavor.  Both were equally greasy.

Next stop was Jim’s Steaks on South Street.  It’s a favorite of my friend, Kate.  The line for Jim’s went around the corner, so we stopped by phileoyogurt for some froyo.  Phileoyogurt is pinkberry/yogiberry-esque frozen yogurt, but there’s like 20 different flavors all the time.  And it’s self-serve (toppings too!), and you pay by the ounce.  There’s so many flavors to choose from, and each set of two flavors can be “twisted,” too.  Unfortunately there’s only one sample per customer.  I ended up getting a mango/lychee twist without toppings, since I figured that was a pretty safe choice.

IMG_5818

Meanwhile, Ed was holding our place in line for steaks, and the line moved pretty slowly.  It was like waiting in a roller coaster line in an amusement park.  Once inside the establishment, the line wove back and forth.  Good times.  really.  But eventually we made it to the front.  And though the service at Jim’s was not nearly as efficient as that of Pat’s or Geno’s, I think it was well worth the wait.  Definitely my favorite cheesesteak of the day.

IMG_5827

 

Unfortunately, Ed and I had to leave after that…I was going to the Jason Mraz concert that evening, but it was still a fun way to spend an afternoon.  I’ve decided cheese whiz is the way to go for sure.  I’ll have to find a new cheesesteak place to try next time I’m in the city

One Response to “Philly Cheesesteak Tour 7.25.09”

  1. Greg B Says:

    I’ve never been to Jims, but I’ve gotten Pats/Genos many a time! I think I fall on the preference of Pats over Genos, but it’s a hard distinction to make.


Leave a Reply

